The State of Michigan requires all drivers to carry liability insurance along with proof in the form of an insurance card. In other words, other forms of financial responsibility (such as a bond) is not an option.
Michigan enacted the no-fault insurance laws in 1973 in an attempt to create a more balanced approach to protecting injured parties. In other states where the tort system prevails, drivers involved in auto accidents often have to go after the other driverís insurance carrier to get full compensation for their losses. Michigan auto insurance laws require a minimum liability coverage of ($20,000/$40,000/$10,000). The break down of this is minimums of $20,000.00 coverage for 1 person, $40,000.00 for all bodily injury, and $10,000.00 liability coverage for property damage (liability).
Proof of liability insurance is required when registering your vehicle, but is not required at the time of an accident, not are you required to carry proof at all time when driving the vehicle.
Uninsured Motorist protection is not required. Failure to abide by the law carries a $200.00 fine, but may not be mandetory for a first time offense.
Other Michigan driving laws:
- Seat belts are required for anyone 4 years of age or older in the front seats, and anyone 4 to 15 years old in all seats. Those over 15 years of age do not have to wear seat belts in the rear seats. The first violation of the seat belt law carries a maximum $25.00 fine.
- The drinking and driving law does not require administrative revocation/suspenstion of drivers license for violation of the law. Law enforcement is permitted to request a preliminary breath test. DWI plea bargaining may have limitations or only allowed with certain conditions. In other words, don’t expect to get a bread if you get a DWI.
- Young drivers are required to carry a learners permit for a minimum of 6 months. Intermediate or provisional license is required and there are restrictions for night driving.